SUPPORT UNIVERSITY EDUCATION AND RESEARCH IN QUEBEC

Discover the mission of Campus Montreal

HEC Montréal, Polytechnique Montréal and the Université de Montréal have come together to create a major fundraising campaign under the Campus Montréal banner.

Our mission is to support promising projects for the design and development of innovative solutions to complex issues. We also strive to create the right conditions for training and knowledge transfer. And finally, Campus Montréal hopes to connect with the community by generating partnerships that are both creative and productive. To effectively carry out this ambitious social project, we aim to raise $500 million.

DONATE

FLAGSHIP PROJECTS

The promise of innovation

All Campus Montréal projects aim to design and develop innovative solutions to complex issues affecting Canadians and people worldwide. Support our campaign and help advance the future of our communities.

ALL FLAGSHIP PROJECTS

BLOG

April 7, 2016

Bernard Lamarre, a builder who took Quebec engineering expertise to the world stage

by
Many touching tributes have been written since the death of Bernard Lamarre, a pioneer of Quebec engineering who sadly left us on March 30 at the [...]READ
More Posts

TALENT

Campus Montréal relies on the talent and dedication of individuals from around the world.

Sébastien
Loranger

Cooler Vision

Olivier
Daigle

What is Essential
is (no Longer)
Invisible

Jean-Yves
Trépanier

Winging Our Way
Forward

Fatima-Zohra
Er-Rafia

China, the
Japan of the
21st Century

Julie
Lessard

Vanquishing
Cancer

Luis
Cisneros

Pursuing Growth

Andréanne
Morin

Rowing Toward
the Future

Danièle
Sauvageau

Leadership and
Vision

John M.
Fairbrother

The E. Coli
Threat

Samuel
Pierre

Global Mobility

Ghyslaine
Vanier

The E. Coli
Threat

Réjean
Samson

Sustainable
Production and
Development

Anne
Marchand

Sustainable
Production and
Development

Pierre-Olivier
Pineau

Sustainable
Production and
Development

COOLER VISION.

Is it possible to cool an object, rather than heating it, with light? Could we look forward one day to coolers and fans as tiny as a beam of light?

SÉBASTIEN LORANGER studies at Polytechnique Montréal. Winner of the 2012 André Hamer Postgraduate Prize from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, Sébastien is conducting research into the use of lasers and new materials for cooling. The technology could make bulky coolers and electric fans things of the past, and produce a new generation of even tinier electronic devices and lasers.

WHAT IS ESSENTIAL IS (NO LONGER) INVISIBLE.

How can we extend the frontiers of biomedical imaging? Is it possible to detect the mineral content of ore in a pitch-black mine, deep below the surface? How can we see even farther out into the universe around us?

OLIVIER DAIGLE, earned a PhD in astrophysics from the Physics Department of the Université de Montréal. During his doctoral studies he designed an ultrasensitive camera that can be used to explore hitherto unknown territory. NASA was the first client to acquire a model of the prototype. In addition to astronomy, the camera has applications in biomedical imaging, chemistry, biology, nano-technology, pharmacology and many other disciplines.

WINGING OUR WAY FORWARD.

How can we push the boundaries of aircraft design? Can we reduce their fuel consumption, pollution and noise? And build them for less?

JEAN-YVES TRÉPANIER is a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Polytechnique Montréal and holds the NSERC-J.-A.-Bombardier-Pratt & Whitney Canada Industrial Research Chair in Integrated Design toward Efficient Aircraft (IDEA). His work deals with digital airflow simulation, aerodynamic design and optimization, geometric modelling and computer infrastructure to support engineering design.

CHINA, THE JAPAN OF THE 21ST CENTURY?

China has become the world’s second most powerful economy in the space of just 30 years, and its rapid economic growth echoes Japan’s performance in the 20th century. Will it be able to successfully manage its social and environmental growth at the same time? Can we expect a Chinese approach to sustainable development, an approach based on Confucian values of collective harmony rather than Western individualistic ones?

FATIMA-ZOHRA ER-RAFIA is an engineer by training. She is completing her PhD in management at HEC Montréal while teaching undergraduate and graduate management courses, also at HEC. She has won several scholarships and awards of excellence. In her research work on international and intercultural comparative management she is contrasting Japan’s development with that of China, at a time when the Middle Kingdom is astounding and intriguing the West with its robust economy and complex model.

VANQUISHING CANCER.

How do genes behave as cancer cells proliferate? Is it possible to design therapies to specifically target cancer stem cells?

JULIE LESSARD, has some remarkable accomplishments to her credit. After four years at Stanford University, in California, she joined the Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRIC) at the Université de Montréal. She is now a Professor in the Department of Pathology and Cell Biology, where she has come up with some decisive advances in the battle against cancer. In particular, she discovered a key genetic determinant of the self-renewal capacity of leukemic stem cells. Her research has earned her many awards and distinctions.

PURSUING GROWTH.

How does a company ensure its future growth when it’s time for the founders to pass the torch? What are the keys to effective succession planning in a family business? How can the new owners benefit from their predecessors’ experience? How can entrepreneurship be fostered in the younger generations? What are the best practices to ensure an entrepreneurial succession?

LUIS CISNEROS, a graduate of the Universidad Autónoma de Aguascalientes, in Mexico, of Université Paris IX – Dauphine (France) and HEC Paris (France), and now an Associate Professor at HEC Montréal, Professor Cisneros directs the McGill-HEC Montréal International Business Families Centre, an organization that studies the question of Entrepreneurial succession in family businesses and the various issues faced by business families. He is also conducting research into entrepreneurship and team succession plans here and around the world.

ROWING TOWARD THE FUTURE.

How is it possible to stay physically and mentally fit for years, without losing sight of your goal? How can you up the pace when you’ve already given everything you’ve got? How can you go back to training when you’ve watched a medal slip through your fingers by mere fractions of a second?

ANDRÉANNE MORIN studies law at the Université de Montréal. A silver medallist in the women’s eight rowing event at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, she finished fourth at the Beijing Olympic Games in 2008 and seventh at the Athens Games in 2004. She is a three-time World Championships medallist in the eight, and was also the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) rowing champion in the Varsity 8. That same year she completed a BA in political economy at Princeton University.

LEADERSHIP AND VISION.

How can one transform a fear of losing into an absolute desire for victory? Is it possible to turn one’s performance around and achieve one’s wildest dreams? How to help people and organizations adopt a new vision and reach ambitious goals?

DANIÈLE SAUVAGEAU is a graduate of the Université de Montréal and HEC Montréal, and currently the General Manager of the Carabins women’s hockey program. Over the course of her career she has attended seven Olympic Games, as women’s hockey coach, general manager and coaching consultant. Thanks to her leadership, the women’s team won seven consecutive World Championships and twice reached the Olympic podium.

Danièle Sauvageau has also contributed to the success of a number of Canadian athletes in about fifteen disciplines. Many public- and private-sector clients are now calling on her expertise in coaching and forming winning teams to advise them on performance in a host of fields. Danièle Sauvageau has worked for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the Montréal Police Department for over 27 years.

GLOBAL MOBILITY.

How can we pool disciplines as varied as education sciences, cognitive sciences, computer sciences, artificial intelligence, engineering and telecommunications to reap the wonders of mobile technology?

SAMUEL PIERRE is a Professor in the Computer and Software Engineering Department at Polytechnique Montréal. He spares no effort to motivate talented students by providing them with access to specialized experimental laboratories. Samuel Pierre received the Order of Canada in 2012 for his contribution to the field of wired and wireless telecommunications networks, and for his leadership within Québec’s Haitian community.

SUSTAINABLE PRODUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT.

How can we harmonize modes of production and consumption with new sustainable development values? Is it possible to manufacture eco-friendly, socially acceptable, economically viable, culturally enriching products tailored to our technological lifestyle?

PIERRE-OLIVIER PINEAU is Associate Professor of the School of Quantitative Methods for Management at HEC Montréal, and professor/researcher at the Interuniversity Research Centre for the Life Cycle of Products, Processes and Services (CIRAIG).

RÉJEAN SAMSON is a Professor in the Chemical Engineering Department at Polytechnique Montréal, and Director General of the Interuniversity Research Centre for the Life Cycle of Products, Processes and Services (CIRAIG). He focuses primarily on issues relating to the environmental footprint of industrial products and processes through research partnerships with universities and institutes in Canada and abroad.

ANNE MARCHAND is Assistant Professor with the School of Industrial Design at Université de Montréal, and associate researcher with the Interuniversity Research Centre for the Life Cycle of Products, Processes and Services (CIRAIG).

THE E. COLI THREAT.

How can we prevent E. coli infections? Is it possible to anticipate new strains of bacteria and prevent the risk of epidemic in humans and farm animals?

GHYSLAINE VANIER, research officer, Reference Laboratory for Escherichia coli.

JOHN M. FAIRBROTHER is a Professor in the Pathology and Microbiology Department (Faculty of Veterinary Medicine) at Université de Montréal. For over 35 years, he has headed the Reference Laboratory for Escherichia coli, a research unit accredited by the World Animal Health Organization. He is also co-founder of Prevtec microbia, a Université de Montréal spin-off company specializing in methods of preventing bacterial infection for livestock production.

FLAVIEN NDONGO KASSÉ, Master’s student, Bateriology, Reference Laboratory for Escherichia coli.

DONATE

SOUTENEZ LA RECHERCHE ET L'ENSEIGNEMENT UNIVERSITAIRE AU QUÉBEC

Découvrez la mission de Campus Montréal

HEC Montréal, Polytechnique Montréal et Université de Montréal mènent conjointement une grande campagne de financement sous la signature Campus Montréal.

Notre mission est de soutenir des projets porteurs qui permettront de concevoir et de développer des solutions novatrices à des enjeux complexes. D’autre part, nous souhaitons créer des conditions propices à la formation et au transfert des connaissances. Finalement, Campus Montréal aspire à rayonner dans la communauté en générant des partenariats créatifs et productifs. Pour réaliser ce vaste projet de société, notre objectif est d’amasser 500 millions de dollars.

DONNER

PROJETS VITRINES

Des projets porteurs de solutions novatrices

Les projets de Campus Montréal sont tous orientés pour concevoir et développer des solutions novatrices en réponse à des enjeux complexes d’ici et d’ailleurs dans le monde. Soutenez cette grande campagne et participez vous aussi à l’avancement de la société de demain.

  • IRIC – Institut
    de recherche en
    immunologie et en cancérologie
    IRIC – Institut de recherche en immunologie et en cancérologie

    Comment accélérer les découvertes pour vaincre le cancer?
    DONNER AU PROJET
    DONNER AU PROJET
  • Programme de sport
    d’excellence des Carabins
    Programme de sport d’excellence des Carabins

    Comment contribuer à la relève et à la formation des leaders de demain?
    DONNER AU PROJET
    DONNER AU PROJET
  • Pôle IDEOS –
    Initiatives pour le
    développement d’entreprises et
    d’organisations à vocation sociale
    Pôle IDEOS – Initiatives pour le développement d’entreprises et d’organisations à vocation sociale

    Comment aider les organisations à vocation sociale à optimiser leur impact?
    DONNER AU PROJET
    DONNER AU PROJET
LISTE DES PROJETS VITRINES

BLOGUE

17 décembre 2014

Étendre la portée d’un talent

par
Honorer quelqu’un, c’est la plupart du temps une action collective. Paradoxalement, quand on reçoit un honneur, on est souvent seul ou en groupe [...]LIRE
Plus de billets

TALENTS

Campus Montréal réunit des talents passionnés provenant des 4 coins du monde.

Sébastien
Loranger

Voir plus clair
pour refroidir

Olivier
Daigle

L'essentiel (n'est
plus) invisible

Jean-Yves
Trépanier

L'avion du
futur

Fatima-Zohra
Er-Rafia

Chine,
nouveau Japon du
XXI siècle?

Julie
Lessard

Vaincre
le cancer

Luis
Cisneros

Poursuivre la
croissance

Andréanne
Morin

L'ultime coup
de rame

Danièle
Sauvageau

De leadership
et de vision

John M.
Fairbrother

La menace
e. coli

Samuel
Pierre

La mobilité
partout

Ghyslaine
Vanier

La menace
e. coli

Réjean
Samson

Production et
développement
durable

Anne
Marchand

Production et
développement
durable

Pierre-Olivier
Pineau

Production et
développement
durable

VOIR PLUS CLAIR POUR REFROIDIR.

L'éclairage d'un objet pourrait-il le refroidir plutôt que le réchauffer? Est-ce possible d'entrevoir un jour des refroidisseurs et des ventilateurs aussi discrets qu'un rayon lumineux?

SÉBASTIEN LORANGER étudie à Polytechnique Montréal. Boursier 2012 du prix André-Hamer du Conseil de recher- ches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, il mène des recherches sur l'utilisation de la lumière laser et de nouveaux matériaux pour provoquer le refroidissement. Cette technologie pourrait éliminer l'utilisation de refroi- disseurs encombrants et de ventilateurs électriques et ainsi permettre de miniaturiser davantage la prochaine génération de dispositifs électroniques et de lasers.

L'ESSENTIEL (N'EST PLUS) INVISIBLE.

Comment repousser les limites de l'imagerie biomédicale? Comment détecter le contenu minéral dans l'obscurité des profondeurs d'une mine? Comment voir encore plus loin dans l'univers qui nous entoure?

OLIVIER DAIGLE, docteur en astrophysique récemment diplômé du département de physique de l'Université de Montréal, a conçu pendant son doctorat une caméra ultrasensible, qui permet d'explorer des territoires jusqu'à ce jour inconnus. La NASA a été la première à se procurer un exemplaire du prototype. Cette caméra trouve des applications dans diverses disciplines, dont l'astronomie, l'imagerie biomédicale, la chimie, la biologie, la pharmacologie et les nanotechnologies.

L'AVION DU FUTUR.

Comment repousser les limites du design actuel des avions? Comment réduire la consommation de carburant, les émissions de polluants et le bruit? Comment abaisser le coût des appareils?

JEAN-YVES TRÉPANIER est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de Polytechnique et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche industrielle CRSNG / J. Armand Bombardier / Pratt & Whitney Canada en intégration du design pour l'efficacité des avions (IDEA). Ses recherches portent sur la simulation numérique d'écoulements, le design et l'optimisation aérodynamique, la modélisation géométrique ainsi que sur les infrastructures informatiques en renfort au design en ingénierie.

CHINE, NOUVEAU JAPON DU XXIe SIÈCLE?

Devenue la seconde puissance économique mondiale en moins de 30 ans, la Chine réussit son développement économique, comme ce fut le cas du Japon au siècle dernier. Réussira-t-elle son développement social et environnemental? Est-il possible d'entrevoir un développement durable «à la chinoise», fondé sur une gouvernance adaptative et misant sur les valeurs confucéennes de l'harmonie collective plutôt que sur l'individualisme occidental?

FATIMA-ZOHRA ER-RAFIA est ingénieure de formation. Elle termine actuellement un doctorat en management à HEC Montréal tout en y donnant des cours de management aux premier et deuxième cycles. Elle est lauréate de plusieurs bourses et mentions d'excellence. Ses recherches portent sur le management comparé, international et interculturel. Elles s'appliquent à comparer l'évolution du Japon avec celle de la Chine, à une époque où l'Empire du Milieu épate et intrigue l'Occident par la robustesse de son économie et la complexité de son modèle.

VAINCRE LE CANCER.

Comment se comportent les gènes dans la prolifération des cellules cancéreuses? Est-il possible de concevoir des thérapies qui seraient spécifiquement dirigées vers les cellules souches cancéreuses?

JULIE LESSARD, biochimiste, affiche une feuille de route remarquable. Après avoir passé quatre années à l'Université Stanford (Californie), elle a choisi de se joindre à l'équipe de l'Institut de recherche en immunologie et en cancérologie (IRIC) de l'Université de Montréal. Cette professeure du Département de pathologie et biologie cellulaire a effectué des avancées décisives dans la lutte contre le cancer. Elle a notamment découvert un gène essentiel à la réplication des cellules souches leucémiques. Ses recherches lui ont valu de nombreux prix et marques de reconnaissance.

POURSUIVRE LA CROISSANCE.

Comment assurer la pérennité d'une entreprise quand ses fondateurs doivent passer le relais? Comment planifier le parcours de la succession d'une entreprise familiale? Comment profiter de l'expérience des autres ? Comment développer l'entrepreneuriat chez les nouvelles générations? Quelles sont les meilleures pratiques pour réaliser une relève entrepreneuriale?

LUIS CISNEROS, Diplômé de l'Universidad Autónoma de Aguascalientes (Mexique), de l'Université Paris IX – Dauphine (France) et de HEC Paris (France), professeur agrégé à HEC Montréal, le professeur Cisneros dirige le Centre international des familles en affaires McGill-HEC Montréal, une organisation qui s'intéresse activement à la relève entrepreneuriale au sein des entreprises familiales et aux diverses problématiques des familles en affaires. Le professeur poursuit également des travaux de recherche sur l'entrepreneuriat et la relève en équipe ici et dans le monde.

L'ULTIME COUP DE RAME.

Comment conserver la forme physique et mentale pendant des années sans perdre de vue l'objectif? Comment augmenter encore la cadence quand on a tout donné? Comment revenir à l'entraînement après s'être fait souffler une médaille par quelques fractions de seconde?

ANDRÉANNE MORIN étudie le droit à l'Université de Montréal. Médaillée d'argent à l'aviron dans le huit féminin aux Jeux olympiques de Londres en 2012, elle a terminé 4e aux Jeux olympiques de Beijing en 2008 et 7e aux Jeux d'Athènes en 2004. Trois fois médaillée aux Championnats du monde, elle a aussi remporté le titre national dans le huit varsity de la National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) en 2006, année où elle complétait un baccalauréat en économie politique à Princeton University.

DE LEADERSHIP ET DE VISION.

Comment la peur de perdre peut-elle être transformée en désir absolu de triompher? Est-il possible de renverser une tendance pour que ses rêves les plus fous se réalisent? Comment aider les personnes et les organisations à se doter d'une nouvelle vision qui leur permettrait de réaliser des objectifs ambitieux?

DANIÈLE SAUVAGEAU est diplômée de l'Université de Montréal et de HEC Montréal, et est actuellement directrice générale du programme de hockey féminin des Carabins. Au cours de sa carrière, elle a participé à sept Jeux olympiques à titre d'entraîneuse de hockey féminin, de directrice générale et de conseillère en coaching. Grâce à son leadership, l'équipe féminine a remporté sept Championnats du monde consécutifs, en plus d'atteindre le podium olympique à deux reprises.

Danièle Sauvageau a également contribué au succès d'athlètes canadiens dans une quinzaine de disciplines. Plusieurs entreprises des secteurs publics et privés font aujourd'hui appel à son expertise en coaching et en formation d'équipes gagnantes pour intervenir dans les domaines liés à la performance. Danièle Sauvageau compte plus de 27 ans de service à la Gendarmerie Royale du Canada et au Service de police de la Ville de Montréal.

LA MOBILITÉ PARTOUT.

Comment mettre en commun des disciplines aussi variées que les sciences de l'éducation, les sciences cognitives, l'informatique, l'intelligence artificielle, le génie et les télécommunications pour tirer parti des étonnantes possibilités des technologies mobiles?

SAMUEL PIERRE est professeur titulaire au département de génie informatique et génie logiciel de Polytechnique Montréal. Il met tout en oeuvre pour stimuler les talents en leur donnant accès à des laboratoires spécialisés d'expérimentation. Samuel Pierre a reçu l'Ordre du Canada en 2012 pour sa contribution dans le domaine des réseaux de communications câblés et sans fil, et pour son leadership au sein de la communauté haïtienne du Québec.

PRODUCTION ET DÉVELOPPEMENT DURABLE.

Comment harmoniser nos modes de production et de consommation avec les nouvelles valeurs du développement durable ? Est-il possible de fabriquer des produits écologiques, socialement acceptables, économiquement viables, culturellement enrichissants et adaptés à nos modes de vie sur le plan technologique ?

PIERRE-OLIVIER PINEAU est professeur agrégé au Service de l'enseignement des méthodes quantitatives de gestion à HEC Montréal et professeur-chercheur au Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur le cycle de vie des produits, procédés et services (CIRAIG).

RÉJEAN SAMSON est professeur titulaire au département de génie chimique de Polytechnique Montréal et directeur général du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur le cycle de vie des produits, procédés et services (CIRAIG). Il s'intéresse particulièrement aux problématiques liées à l'empreinte écologique des produits et procédés industriels, en suscitant divers partenariats de recherche avec plusieurs universités et instituts au Canada et dans le monde.

ANNE MARCHAND est professeure adjointe à l'École de design industriel de l'Université de Montréal et chercheure associée au Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur le cycle de vie des produits, procédés et services (CIRAIG).

LA MENACE E. COLI.

Comment prévenir les infections par E. coli? Est-il possible de voir venir les nouvelles souches de la bactérie et ainsi prévenir les risques d'épidémie autant chez les humains que chez les animaux d'élevage?

GHYSLAINE VANIER, agente de recherche, Laboratoire de référence pour Escherichia coli.

JOHN M. FAIRBROTHER est professeur au département de pathologie et microbiologie de la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l'Université de Montréal. Il dirige depuis plus de 35 ans le Laboratoire de référence pour Escherichia coli, unité de recherche accréditée par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé animale. Il est également cofondateur de Prevtec microbia, une entreprise dérivée de l'Université de Montréal spécialisée en méthodes de prévention des infections bactériennes pour la production animale.

FLAVIEN NDONGO KASSÉ, étudiant à la maîtrise, Laboratoire de référence pour Escherichia coli.

DONNER